Appellate Procedure Checklist–NY State County Breakdowns

You may be able to list the counties that comprise the First Department by heart (New York and Bronx), but memorizing the counties of the three other departments often times proves to be much more difficult. Below, find a map of each Appellate Division Department, so the next time you receive a Notice of Appeal from Chenango county you’ll automatically know the appeal is going to be heard in the Third Department.

At the very least, you’ll have a handy resource in case the memorization doesn’t go as planned…

AD1 Counties

Bronx County
New York County

AD2 Counties

Richmond County
Kings County
Queens County
Nassau County
Suffolk County

Westchester County
Dutchess County
Orange County
Rockland County
Putnam County


AD3 Counties

Albany County
Chenango County
Cortland County
Franklin County
Hamilton County
Otsego County
Saratoga County
Schuyler County
Tompkins County
Broome County
Clinton County
Delaware County
Fulton County
Madison County

Rensselaer County
Schenectady County
Sullivan County
Ulster County
Chemung County
Columbia County
Essex County
Greene County
Montgomery County
Saint Lawrence County
Schoharie County
Tioga County
Warren County
Washington County


AD4 Counties

Allegany County
Chautauqua County
Herkimer County
Livingston County
Oneida County
Orleans County
Steuben County
Yates County
Cattaraugus County
Erie County
Jefferson County

Monroe County
Onondaga County
Oswego County
Wayne County
Cayuga County
Genesee County
Lewis County
Niagara County
Ontario County
Seneca County
Wyoming County